Delivery of Official Controls in Approved Establishments in England & Wales
Overview
Summary, notice description and lot information
The Food Standards Agency (FSA) has initiated a public procurement process for the "Delivery of Official Controls in Approved Establishments in England & Wales." This contract, valued between £180 million for an initial five-year term and up to £303 million including a two-year extension, falls under the veterinary services category (CPV 85200000). The procurement method is an open procedure, targeting the provision of managed services by contract Official Veterinarians and Auxiliaries across various meat establishments and occasionally local authority and dairy premises.
Key dates include the contract's end date on 30th March 2025, with submission deadlines and bid openings scheduled for 11th June 2024. The procurement stage is in the award phase, with contracts already signed with suppliers Eville and Jones and HallMark Meat Hygiene Ltd for multiple lots. This tender offers significant growth opportunities for businesses in the veterinary and food safety sectors, particularly those capable of meeting the rigorous selection and award criteria, including social value, technical capability, and cost-effectiveness.
Given the contract’s scope and substantial estimated value per lot, both large enterprises and specialist service providers are well-suited to bid for and secure a share of the business. The FSA has emphasised the potential for service providers to extend their offerings to other government departments, enhancing the appeal and profitability of successful bids.
This contract is for the provision of a managed service for contract Official Veterinarians (cOV) and contract Official Auxiliaries (cOA) to undertake the delivery of Official Controls in accordance with assimilated EU and UK law in Third Party Premises (Food Business Operator Premises) which are approved by FSA. These are meat establishments (slaughterhouses, cutting Premises and approved game handling establishments) which are owned and operated by a Food Business Operator. On occasion, attendance at premises under local authority control and Dairy Establishments may be required.
Estimated value of Lot 1 was PS31 to PS53 million over the term of the Contract. Additional information: Estimated value of Lot 1 was PS31 to PS53 million over the term of the Contract. <br/><br/>Tenders were evaluated on a lot by lot basis subject to the selection criteria set out in the Qualification Envelope and the award criteria and minimum requirements set out in the Evaluation Document. There were restrictions on the number of lots that can be awarded to a Tenderer subject to certain exceptions as set out in the Contract Notice Wording Document.
Estimated value of Lot 2 was PS11 to PS18 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 3 was PS14 to PS23 million over the term of the Contract. Please note these are estimated values and FSA expect tenderers to calculate their bids based on the cost of delivering the service. The estimated range covers from the 5 year initial term to the 7 year total term, to include the optional 2 year extension, and are rounded to the nearest million.
Estimated value of Lot 4 was PS18 to PS31 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 5 was PS12 to PS20 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 6 was PS21 to PS35 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 7 was PS36 to PS61 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 8 was PS17 to PS29 million over the term of the Contract.
Estimated value of Lot 9 was PS20 to PS33 million over the term of the Contract.
Procurement Classification
Notice type, method, and CPV codes
Contract Values
Financial information and value estimates
The contract period is five years.
Key Dates
Publication, submission, and award timeline
Notice Status
Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts
Contracting Authority
Buyer organisation and contact details
Awarded Supplier
Supplier who was awarded this contract
Documents & Links
External resources and data downloads
The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.
Need help with your tender submission?
Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.
Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.
Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk
Phone: 0333 577 0877
Contact UsBidding for contracts like this
Other tenders in Not specified
- Provision of a short term CT Imaging and Reporting service in Not specified
- Community COVID-19 Vaccination Programme Fixed Sites for Cinderford, Lydney, Coleford Gloucestershire and Lydbrook Urgent award in Not specified
- NHSE915 Leasowe Alternative Provider Medical Services, including Special Allocation Scheme in Not specified
- Request for Information - Coniston Medical Practice (NHS Lancashire & South Cumbria Integrated Care Board (ICB)) in Not specified
- Restorative Practice Services in North Yorkshire in Not specified
- New Addington Group Practice - APMS Contract in Not specified