Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardHealth servicesCPV: 85000000

NHS Lanarkshire End of Life and Hospice Services

South Lanarkshire
Published 11 Nov, 2025
Contract Value
Not specified
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

NHS Lanarkshire has completed the procurement process for two significant contracts to deliver End of Life and Hospice Services across the Lanarkshire region. These contracts are centralised around two entities: St Andrew's Hospice and The Kilbryde Hospice, with an aggregate estimated value of £35,302,511 over a potential six-year period, commencing 1st April 2026. The procurement falls under the 'Health services' category, highlighting NHS Lanarkshire's initiative to provide comprehensive palliative care services throughout the region.

The contracts were awarded using a limited procurement method due to the technical nature of the services and the absence of competition, given the proximity requirement to the patient cohort. As of 11th November 2025, both St Andrew's and Kilbryde Hospices have been awarded active status. This procurement presents significant opportunities for healthcare providers specializing in palliative and hospice care.

Organisations positioned within or capable of coordinating closely with the Lanarkshire region may find growth potential in offering complementary contract services or partnerships, aligning with the extended service demands in palliative care. With a focus on comprehensive and holistic support, including nursing, social work, and spiritual care, businesses offering allied healthcare, counselling, or rehabilitative services might prove competitive. This initiative underscores an ongoing need for specialised skills and localised service provision, inviting participation from businesses that can ensure consistent, high-quality care delivery in line with NHS Lanarkshire's strategic healthcare objectives.

Notice Description

This is a voluntary ex ante transparency notice and is intended to provide notice of the Authority's intention to award two contracts for delivery of End of Life and Hospice Services covering the population of Lanarkshire. The contracts will cover a period of 36 months, with the option to extend for a further period of up to 36 months. This notice is made by the Lanarkshire Health Board, hereinafter referred to as "the Authority").

The aggregate value of both contracts is estimated at GBP 35,302,511 if both are extended to their maximum potential term.

Lot Information2 Lots
1NHS Lanarkshire End of Life and Hospice Services - St Andrew's Hospice
N/A

This is a voluntary ex ante transparency notice and is intended to provide notice of the Authority's intention to award a contract to deliver End of Life and Hospice Services covering the population of Lanarkshire, for a period of 36 months, with the option to extend for a further period of up to 36 months. This notice is made by the Lanarkshire Health Board, hereinafter referred to as "the Authority". The aggregate contract value is estimated at GBP 23,622,355 over the maximum contract term. The contract is intended to commence on 01/04/2026. The services being awarded under the contract include specialist palliative care 24 hours a day in the hospice inpatient unit, which will include complex symptom management, end of life care, respite and assessment of a patient's changing condition, under the care of a palliative care consultant physician and a multi professional team including nurses, social worker, carers' support, complementary therapy, occupational therapy, spiritual care and a Bereavement Support Service. The Authority will observe a 10-day standstill from the date of publication of this VEAT, during which the Authority will not enter into any contractual arrangement. Additional information: The Service to which this procurement relates fall within Schedule 3 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015, as amended. As such, the Authority does not intend to hold itself bound by any of the Regulations, save those applicable to Schedule 3 Services.

2NHS Lanarkshire End of Life and Hospice Services - Kilbryde Hospice
N/A

This is a voluntary ex ante transparency notice and is intended to provide notice of the Authority's intention to award a contract to deliver End of Life and Hospice Services covering the population of Lanarkshire, for a period of 36 months, with the option to extend for a further period of up to 36 months. This notice is made by the Lanarkshire Health Board, hereinafter referred to as "the Authority". The aggregate contract value is estimated at GBP 11,680,156.50 over the maximum contract term. The contract is intended to commence around 01/04/2026. The services being awarded under the contract include specialist palliative care 24 hours a day in the hospice inpatient unit, which will include complex symptom management, end of life care, respite and assessment of a patient's changing condition, under the care of a palliative care consultant physician and a multi professional team including nurses, social worker, carers' support, complementary therapy, occupational therapy, spiritual care and a Bereavement Support Service. The Authority will observe a 10-day standstill from the date of publication of this VEAT, during which the Authority will not enter into any contractual arrangement. Additional information: The Service to which this procurement relates fall within Schedule 3 of the Public Contracts (Scotland) Regulations 2015, as amended. As such, the Authority does not intend to hold itself bound by any of the Regulations, save those applicable to Schedule 3 Services.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-05df0a
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Limited
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
Not specified
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
£35,302,512

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Not Specified
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

NL
NHS LANARKSHIRE
Services
Contact Name
Mary Frame
BOTHWELL
G71 8BB
Scotland
Scotland
TLM9 Southern Scotland

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

?
Not specifiedAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
2
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us