Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardOther community, social and personal servicesCPV: 75231240

Penrose Bermondsey - Independent Approved Premises

Westminster
Published 1 Dec, 2025
Contract Value
£26,790,000
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) has awarded a contract to provide an Independent Approved Premise (IAP) in Bermondsey, operated by Penrose Options, focusing on probation services. The procurement pertains to the public order and safety category, specifically aiming to support high-risk individuals with community sentences or after release from custody. This contract, valued at £8,389,725, was signed on 1st December 2025, and the procurement method followed an open procedure.

The procurement stage is complete, and it included bidding from three suppliers. The service is located in London, reflecting a strategic focus on localised community safety and rehabilitation services within the UK's probation framework. This tender presents substantial opportunities for businesses involved in providing specialised rehabilitation services and managing residential facilities.

Small and medium enterprises (SMEs) with the capacity to deliver quality accommodation, service delivery, and social value initiatives could find this contract advantageous for growth. Additionally, organisations specialising in probation and rehabilitation services are well-suited to compete, given the criteria for quality and mobilisation. Such contracts not only provide a stable revenue framework through government allocation but also enhance a company's portfolio in the public services sector, contributing to community welfare and public safety.

The repeat procurement nature of such services could ensure sustained business engagement and expansion in the justice sector.

Notice Description

Contract Award Notice. The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) as the contracting authority is awarding a contract to provide an Independent Approved Premise (IAP). Approved Premises (APs) provide a critical community-based service to accommodate and manage high risk individuals serving community sentences and on release from custody

Lot Information3 Lots
1Untitled Lot
Planned

Approved Premises (APs) provide accommodation for high-risk (male) and medium or high-risk complex need (female) People on Probation serving community sentences and upon release from prison. APs support the individual's safe transition into the community, while providing an important level of public protection. The key purpose of APs is to allow Probation Service staff to closely monitor and manage high-risk and complex behaviours while supporting the individual's reintegration into the community. Priority is given to those who pose a risk of serious harm to children, known victims and the public, as well as to themselves. The model length of stay for a Person on Probation is 12 weeks. However, a range of factors will influence the duration, including the ability to safely progress an individual on into subsequent community or supported accommodation. There are currently 104 APs operating across England and Wales: * 89 are operated by the Probation Service * 15 are Independent Approved Premises, predominantly operated by the Voluntary Community and Social Enterprise (VCSE) sector IAPs work with the highest-risk people of probation and are a vital element in public protection arrangements. Effective security is essential for public protection, for people of probation management, and for the safety of staff and residents. They offer a level of contact, support and supervision that exists nowhere else in the probation service with the aim of protecting the public by reducing the likelihood of re-offending. These premises provide enhanced supervision through 24-hour a day staffing, night-time curfews, compliance with consistently enforced rules and a programme of supervision, support and monitoring, which addresses offending behaviour and the reduction of risk. Residents are seen daily, and staff become involved in the residents' lives to a high degree; giving advice, offering support, exercising control and supervision and liaising with the rest of the service and a wide range of agencies. The capacity to engage directly with a wide range of Criminal Justice stakeholders - Courts, Probation, Prisons, Police - is therefore essential. This intensive level of contact is what enables IAP staff to be aware of residents' actions and changes in their behaviour in a way that no other intervention can and allows a high level of monitoring of residents' well-being. There are two key elements to the provision of an IAP: The first element is the provision and maintenance of a 'fit for purpose' residential unit which, will require the relevant licenses to operate as such; The second element is the delivery of the 24-hour support service. Further information on APs can be found under PSI 32/2014 located here: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/probation-instructions-pis Please use the Teams links to register for a session or please notify us at iaps-bsc@justice.gov.uk to be added to mailing lists. Additional information: The purpose of this notice is to advertise preliminary market engagement which is to be carried out in advance of the procurement.

2North West Region
Cancelled

Contract Award Notice. The Ministry of Justice (MoJ) as the contracting authority is awarding a contract to provide an Independent Approved Premise (IAP). Approved Premises (APs) provide a critical community-based service to accommodate and manage high risk individuals serving community sentences and on release from custody.

3London Region
Active

London Region properties Full details provided in ITT

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-040b8a
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Planning Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Open
Awardee Scale
SME
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
£26,790,000
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
£31,015,695

The contract period is five years.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Tender

19 Feb 2024 at 16:14

Tender Notice

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Active, Cancelled, Planned
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

MOJ
MINISTRY OF JUSTICE
Services
Contact Name
Chris Dixon
LONDON
SW1H 9AJ
London
England
TLI3 Inner London - West

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

?
Not specifiedAwarded
SME
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
3
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us