Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardOphthalmologist servicesCPV: 85121281

Provision of Cataract and YAG Laser Services

Telford and Wrekin
Published 13 Aug, 2025
Contract Value
Not specified
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

The procurement process for the provision of Cataract and YAG Laser Services by NHS Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care Board is now at the award stage. The contract, subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, has been directly awarded under Patient Choice Services. The services will commence on 1st July 2025, with a three-year duration and an option to extend for two additional years.

This procurement does not fall under the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 or Procurement Regulations 2024. The service provision will take place in the County of Shropshire within the locations specified as UKG21 and UKG22. This tender presents significant growth opportunities for businesses specialising in the healthcare sector, particularly those offering ophthalmologist services.

The procurement method, which directly awards contracts to providers, highlights a key aspect of this tender: the necessity to have existing capabilities in cataract and laser eye treatments. Large-scale healthcare providers with the ability to deliver timely and effective eyesight restoration services will find this opportunity particularly aligned with their expertise. Potential bidding businesses should consider their readiness to meet NHS standards and integrate seamlessly with the NHS's operational frameworks, ensuring they can offer competitive and sustainable healthcare solutions.

Notice Description

NHS Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care Board (ICB) in accordance with the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) (PSR) 2023, through exercising the use of Direct Award B, Patient Choice Services, are looking to award a contract for the provision of Cataract and YAG Laser Services.

Lot Information1 Lot
1Untitled Lot
Cancelled

NHS Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care Board (ICB) in accordance with the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) (PSR) 2023, through exercising the use of Direct Award B, Patient Choice Services, are looking to award contracts for the provision of Cataract and YAG Laser Services. Cataracts are opacifications in the natural lens that can make vision blurred or misty. Over time the opacifications become denser, and vision gets worse. The cloudier the lens becomes, the more the person's sight will be affected. Once cataracts start interfering with daily activities such as reading or driving, surgery is usually recommended. According to "UK Vision Strategy 2020" sight loss is now a major health issue, affecting about two million people in the UK. Cataract surgery is a common procedure that involves removing the cloudy lens (cataract) and replacing it with a new, artificial lens (known as an intraocular lens) to restore clear vision. YAG (capsulotomy) laser treatment is a method of treating cloudiness after cataract surgery. The prevailing NHS Standard Contract will take precedent and shall be updated accordingly on an annual basis. Providers accept any agreed local tariff rates as set by NHS Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care Board (ICB). This service is anticipated to be in place for a period of 3 years with the option to extend for up to a further 2-year period. The service shall go live from 1st July 2025. The provision of the Cataract and YAG Laser Service is an existing service and the ICB are awarding contracts to the following existing providers, in accordance with direct award process B: * Community Health and Eyecare Ltd (CHEC) 1-6 Star Building Olivers Place Fulwood Preston PR2 9WT ODS: AAV Company Number: 07296068 * SpaMedica Limited SpaMedica House Churchgate Bolton BL1 1HU ODS: NPG Company number: 06644293 * New Medical Systems Limited (T/A 'Newmedica') Principal office address: CentralPoint 45 Beech Street London EC2Y 8AD Registered office address: Forum 6 Solent Business Park Whiteley Hampshire PO15 7PA Company number: 6211226 * Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust Mytton Oak Road Shrewsbury SY3 8XQ

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-058768
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Limited
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
Not specified
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
Not specified

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Cancelled
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

NST
NHS SHROPSHIRE, TELFORD AND WREKIN INTEGRATED CARE BOARD
Services
Contact Name
Hayley Smith
TELFORD
TF1 1LX
West Midlands
England
TLG2 Shropshire and Staffordshire

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

?
Not specifiedAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
4
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-h6vhtk-058768

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us