Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardHealth and social work servicesCPV: 85000000

Derbyshire Community Orthotics Service

Derby
OPCARE
Published 27 Jun, 2025
Contract Value
£11,639,395
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

The procurement process for the Derbyshire Community Orthotics Service has been completed by NHS Derby and Derbyshire Integrated Care Board, with NHS Arden and Greater East Midlands CSU acting as their agent. This tender falls under the Health and social work services category and has been classified as a Light Touch Regime procurement under the Public Contract Regulations 2015. Covering areas in Derby, England, the awarded contract is valued at £11,104,111.20 and was awarded to Opcare Ltd. The contract will commence on 1st June 2025 and last until 31st May 2030, with the possibility of a two-year extension.

The tender process was akin to an Open process, facilitating a broad scope for competitive participation. This tender presents substantial opportunities for growth in the healthcare and orthotics sectors, particularly for businesses specialising in community-based medical support services. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and voluntary, community and social enterprises (VCSEs) capable of delivering specialised orthotics solutions, ranging from diagnosis and treatment to the fitting and maintenance of orthoses, may find this contract particularly advantageous.

Firms focusing on high-quality, safe medical care, and those able to adapt to evolving medical and social needs of orthotics users, are well-suited to pursue similar opportunities in the public healthcare procurement arena.

Notice Description

NHS Derby & Derbyshire Integrated Care Board were seeking to commission Derbyshire Orthotics Community Service. NHS Arden and Greater East Midlands CSU (AGCSU) is acting as an agent for and on behalf of the Commissioner and is supported this Competitive Process. The service is a Schedule 3 Service and was procured under the Light Touch Regime (LTR) of the Public Contract Regulations 2015.

The process was a one stage process similar to an Open process. The service shall provide a community-based, cost effective, accessible specialist orthotics service which includes the diagnosis, treatment, fitting, maintaining and repairing of orthoses for children and adults in line with the agreed access criteria, responding to changing medical and social needs of the orthotics user. The service will need to;

  • Provide appropriate orthotics, inclusive of elastic/fabric and custom-made splints. To provide advice to maximise children's' motor skills, minimise development of contracture and deformity in the growing child and prevent injury in a caseload of children with neurological and physical health needs.
  • Facilitate the treatment and rehabilitation of the patient. This is achieved through the assessment of need and the provision of an orthoses that will either remedy or relieve a medical condition or disability and may prevent the development of more disabling conditions.
  • Provide access to high quality, safe care that gives timely advice, appropriate support, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment for patients according to their individual need.
  • Ensure the service is delivered in line with current policy, learning and best evidence and provide appropriate governance and management for the service.

The contract will commence 01st June 2025 and be 3 years with the Commissioner having the option to extend the Contract for up to a further 2 years.

Lot Information0 Lots
No lot information available.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-b5fd17-62482d92-55a2-4405-a780-6a274864a7f9
Publication Source
Contracts Finder
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Not Specified
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
£11,639,395
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
£11,104,111
Contracts Value
Not specified

The contract period is five years.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Not Specified
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Not Specified

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

NDA
NHS DERBY AND DERBYSHIRE INTEGRATED CARE BOARD
Services
Contact Name
NHS Derby and Derbyshire Integrated Care Board
DERBY
DE1 2FS
East Midlands
England
TLF1 Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

OP
OPCAREAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
1
Awards Value
£11,104,111

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-b5fd17-62482d92-55a2-4405-a780-6a274864a7f9

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us