NHS Gloucestershire ICB Centre of Dental Excellence and Dental Access Centre
Overview
Summary, notice description and lot information
NHS Gloucestershire Integrated Care Boards (ICB) is in the planning stage of a tender process for the establishment of a Centre of Dental Excellence and a Dental Access Centre, aiming to improve NHS dental services in Gloucestershire. The procurement, classified under health services, involves commissioning two new primary care facilities to serve areas with significant deprivation, particularly in Gloucestershire city centre. The contract is anticipated to start in 2025/26, with a duration of 10 years, and will be divided into two Lots, each valued at £1.2 million.
Key dates include market engagement events on 19th and 20th March 2025 via MS Teams, with the registration deadline being 17th March 2025. The full procurement is expected to be published in Spring/Summer 2025. This tender presents substantial growth opportunities for businesses proficient in healthcare services, particularly those specialising in dental care.
It seeks providers capable of delivering comprehensive primary care dental services, including those with experience in flexible commissioning and workforce training. Successful providers will be expected to lease and outfit the designated facilities, making this ideal for businesses with the capacity to invest in infrastructure and those positioned to scale services. Additionally, organisations involved in postgraduate training for dental professionals will find this a fitting opportunity to expand their influence within the NHS framework.
The competitive procurement process aligns with the new Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023.
This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to inform the market of NHS Gloucestershire Integrated Care Boards (ICB) (the Commissioner's), intention to commission dental access as part of a Centre of Dental Excellence and a Dental Access centre The Commissioner would like to understand the level of provider interest in delivering these services. Fundamentally this opportunity seeks to increase access to NHS dentistry in a part of the county where deprivation is greatest by working in partnership to commission 2 new bespoke primary care facilities in fit for purpose environments, incorporating flexible commissioning and workforce training. A key aim of this opportunity is to provide NHS dental access in a Core 20 area.
This will provide much needed dental care to a cohort of patients who struggle disproportionately with oral pain and disease, which negatively affects their health and wellbeing. 1) Name the Commissioner(s) NHS Gloucestershire ICB is seeking to secure a Prime Provider(s) who has the capability and capacity to deliver primary care dental services, in line with the specified requirements.") 2) Number of Lots/ geography covered There are likely to be two dental PDS contracts. Two separate Lots with a value of PS1.2m per Lot.
This will be to provide dental access for patients residing in Gloucestershire to treat new, complex and high needs patients and contributing to improving the oral health of the population. 3) Contract duration and start date The contract term is planned to commence during 2025/26 and it is anticipated that each PDS contract will be for a period of 10 years. 4) Any particular nuances for a particular lot that should be highlighted In partnership with other anchor organisations, the ICB has identified two potential Gloucester City centre sites, one for the Centre of Dental Excellence and the other for the Dental Access Centre.
Providers will be expected to lease these sites for a term which mirrors the length of the contract. A Heads of Terms will be developed in advance of commissioning a service provider which sets out the expected terms and conditions between the owner of the building and the service provider/s. At both sites it is anticipated that the service provider/s would fund the fit out of the accommodation.
The service provider would be expected to fund associated, recurrent revenue costs, for example servicing and maintenance. There is an expectation that the provider is or becomes a postgraduate training practice and hosts foundation dentists/dental therapists and mentors international dentists. 5) Whether or not TUPE is likely to apply TUPE will not be applicable for this procurement process.
NHS Gloucestershire ICB will be hosting market engagement events with the aim to gain valuable feedback from prospective providers. These are planned to be hosted on MS Teams for the 19th March 2025 18:30-19:30 and 20th March 2025 13:00-14:00, both events will cover the same agenda and content. Interested providers will be able to view the opportunity and access the tender documentation via the 'Live Opportunities' list on the e-procurement system, Atamis, available on the following link: health-family.force.com/s/Welcome (Contract ref: C343177).
There will be a limit of 3 representatives per provider. Closing date for registering will by midday Monday 17th March 2025 . The procurement is anticipated to be published during the Spring/Summer 2025 This exercise is being carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioner.
This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to inform the market of NHS Gloucestershire Integrated Care Boards (ICB) (the Commissioner's), intention to commission dental access as part of a Centre of Dental Excellence and a Dental Access centre The Commissioner would like to understand the level of provider interest in delivering these services. Fundamentally this opportunity seeks to increase access to NHS dentistry in a part of the county where deprivation is greatest by working in partnership to commission 2 new bespoke primary care facilities in fit for purpose environments, incorporating flexible commissioning and workforce training. Number of Lots/ geography covered: There are likely to be two dental PDS contracts. Two separate Lots with a value of PS1.2m per Lot. This will be to provide dental access for patients residing in Gloucestershire to treat new, complex and high needs patients and contributing to improving the oral health of the population. Contract duration and start date: The contract term is planned to commence during 2025/26 and it is anticipated that each PDS contract will be for a period of 10 years.
This notice is placed as a Prior Information Notice (PIN) to inform the market of NHS Gloucestershire Integrated Care Boards (ICB) (the Commissioner's), intention to commission dental access as part of a Centre of Dental Excellence and a Dental Access centre The Commissioner would like to understand the level of provider interest in delivering these services. Fundamentally this opportunity seeks to increase access to NHS dentistry in a part of the county where deprivation is greatest by working in partnership to commission 2 new bespoke primary care facilities in fit for purpose environments, incorporating flexible commissioning and workforce training. Number of Lots/ geography covered: There are likely to be two dental PDS contracts. Two separate Lots with a value of PS1.2m per Lot. This will be to provide dental access for patients residing in Gloucestershire to treat new, complex and high needs patients and contributing to improving the oral health of the population. Contract duration and start date: The contract term is planned to commence during 2025/26 and it is anticipated that each PDS contract will be for a period of 10 years.
Procurement Classification
Notice type, method, and CPV codes
Contract Values
Financial information and value estimates
Contract duration information not available.
Key Dates
Publication, submission, and award timeline
Notice Status
Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts
Contracting Authority
Buyer organisation and contact details
Awarded Supplier
Supplier who was awarded this contract
Documents & Links
External resources and data downloads
The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.
Need help with your tender submission?
Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.
Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.
Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk
Phone: 0333 577 0877
Contact UsBidding for contracts like this
Other tenders in Not specified
- COVID-19 South West Vaccination Outreach Services - Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire in Not specified
- Stroke ESD SALT Provision in Not specified
- Sussex Community Dermatology Ltd - Supplier Accreditation on behalf of Frimley Integrated Care Board in Not specified
- NHSE448 Primary Care Services (Medical and Nursing) including Clinical Substance Misuse for HMP New Hall and HMP Askham Grange and Integrated Mental Health Services including Neurodiveristy and Psychosocial Substance Misuse Services for HMP New Hall and HMP Askham Grange in Not specified
- Lancashire & South Cumbria Dementia Post Diagnostic Support Service in Not specified
- Urgent Treatment Centre in Not specified