Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardOptician servicesCPV: 85100000

Healthcare Provision for Adults and Young People in Prisons and other Prescribed Places of Detention in West Yorkshire and York Service (Lot 1) Adult Male Prisons - HMP Leeds and HMP Wealstun. Healthcare Provision for Adults and Young People in Prisons and other Prescribed Places of Detention in West Yorkshire and York Service (Lot 2) Secure Estate - HMP Wakefield

Leeds
PRACTICE PLUS GROUP HEALTH & REHABILITATION SERVICES
Published 23 Apr, 2025
Contract Value
Not specified
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

NHS England - North East & Yorkshire has issued a contract modification under the Healthcare Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. This pertains to primary care and mental health services for adult male prisons in West Yorkshire, including locations such as HMP Leeds, HMP Wakefield, and HMP Wealstun. Initially set to expire on 31st March 2025, the contract with the current provider has been extended by 12 months to ensure continuity of essential healthcare services.

The procurement process, classified under the health services category, involves a change in service provider from Care UK Clinical Services Limited to Practice Plus Group Health and Rehabilitation Services Limited. This urgent modification increases the contract value by £15,502,193 and is deemed necessary for patient safety. The procurement method applied was direct award without prior competition due to extreme urgency.

This procurement scenario presents significant opportunities for healthcare providers specialising in prison healthcare services. Businesses that can demonstrate capability in delivering comprehensive health services, including general practitioner, mental health, and specialist treatments such as physiotherapy and pharmacy, are well-suited to enter similar tenders in the future. Large-scale entities like Practice Plus Group Health & Rehabilitation Services Ltd have capitalised on this urgent contract extension, benefiting from a substantial contract value increase.

The situation underscores the importance of readiness to respond to sudden procurement opportunities for business growth in the public health services sector.

Notice Description

The relevant authority has abandoned its procurement of Lot 1 - Primary Care Services (including Substance Misuse) and Lot 2 - Mental Health Services (including Learning Disabilities and Autism) for West Yorkshire adult male prisons within His Majesty's Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS) ("Service") with reference number NHSE939. The contract for the Service with the incumbent provider was due to expire on 31st March 2025. The relevant authority has decided that an urgent modification is required to extend the current contract for the Service by 12 months, to expire on 31st March 2026, to maintain continuity of the Service while a new provider selection process is run.

This contract is divided into lots: These services were procured in lots in 2015 with one contract awarded to the single successful provider.

Lot Information1 Lot
1Untitled Lot
Cancelled

The relevant authority has abandoned its procurement of Primary Care Services (including Substance Misuse) and Mental Health Services (including Learning Disabilities and Autism) for West Yorkshire adult male prisons within His Majesty's Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS) ("Service") with reference number NHSE939. The contract for the Service with the incumbent provider was due to expire on 31st March 2025. The relevant authority has decided that an urgent modification is required to extend the current contract for the Service by 12 months, to expire on 31st March 2026, increasing the contract value by PS15,502,193. Additional information: In view of the urgency, the current provider was the only provider able to provide services to preserve service continuity. No realistic alternative provider given timescales

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-050667
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Limited
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
Not specified
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
£15,502,193

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Cancelled
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

NE-
NHS ENGLAND - NORTH EAST & YORKSHIRE
Services
Contact Name
Not specified
LEEDS, WEST YORKSHIRE
LS1 4AP
Yorkshire and The Humber
England
TLE4 West Yorkshire

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

PP
PRACTICE PLUS GROUP HEALTH & REHABILITATION SERVICESAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
1
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-h6vhtk-050667

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us