Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardHealth servicesCPV: 85100000

Urgent Palliative Care Medicines Cheshire East

Warrington
Published 29 Apr, 2025
Contract Value
Not specified
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

The NHS Cheshire and Merseyside Integrated Care Board has awarded a contract for "Urgent Palliative Care Medicines" in the health services category. The procurement process followed the Provider Selection Regime under the Health Care Services Regulations 2023, and the contract was confirmed by the Finance, Investment, Resources Committee on 19th November 2024. This one-year contract commenced on 1st April 2025 and will conclude on 31st March 2026.

The procurement utilised a limited method, directly awarding the contract without a prior call for competition. This contract specifically targets various pharmacy sites across Cheshire East, located in the UKD6 region, with an emphasis on maintaining an additional stock to cater to urgent palliative care needs. This contract opportunity presents substantial growth potential for pharmacies within Cheshire East that can manage pharmaceutical stock, ensure continual service coverage, and swiftly respond to public healthcare demands, including bank holidays and locum periods.

Primary stakeholders suitable for this tender are pharmacies capable of providing reliable and efficient palliative care services. Through this procurement, businesses have a chance to reinforce their role in local healthcare provision, enhance community presence, and benefit from assured financial arrangements such as quarterly payments for successful service delivery. Pharmacies such as Boots, Clear Pharmacy, and Well Pharmacy are amongst the suppliers actively engaged in supporting this initiative, highlighting the competitive landscape and presence of credible operators in this new contract.

Notice Description

The demand for palliative care drugs can be urgent and/or unpredictable. A number of the drugs used in palliative care are rarely used in other circumstances and are therefore often not widely available in community pharmacies. The stock held for the Urgent Palliative Care Medicine Service should be over and above the core stock holding and the ICB agrees to reimburse contractors should this medicine be held beyond the expiry date.

The Service provider is expected to order and continuously hold the range and quantity of stock specified for the total number of hours the pharmacy is open, including bank holiday and rotas and during any periods of locum cover. Payment Details

  • PS201.80 annual fee for providing full and continuous service as outlined in the service specification and irrespective of the number of prescriptions dispensed.
  • The fee will be paid in four instalments of PS50.45 on the completion of the quarterly audit.
  • The commissioner has the discretion to withhold quarterly payments where the commissioned service provider fails to/is unable to, respond to the commissioner's assistance, including early termination of a contract for repeated transgressions.
  • The pharmacy is expected to carry out good stock management and on the rare occasions when medicines on the approved list expire, Cheshire East Place will reimburse the Drug Tariff or cost price of stock that reaches its expiry date.
Lot Information1 Lot
1Untitled Lot
Cancelled

NHS Cheshire and Merseyside ICB has awarded a one year contract via Direct Award A to Local Pharmacists within Cheshire East Cheshire and Merseyside ICB. The contract commenced on 1st April 2025 and will expire on the 31st March 2026 with an estimated combined Cheshire East Indicative annual contract value of PS 2,825.20 for the selected pharmacists to participate in this scheme. The reimbursement of palliative care drugs is funded separately.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-0509a0
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Limited
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
Not specified
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
£201

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Cancelled
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

NCA
NHS CHESHIRE AND MERSEYSIDE INTEGRATED CARE BOARD
Services
Contact Name
Rachael Ullmer
WARRINGTON
WA1 1QY
North West
England
TLD6 Cheshire

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

?
Not specifiedAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
12
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Official Notice Links
https://alliedpharmacies.com/pharmacy/alsager-pharmacy
alliedpharmacies.com/pharmacy/alsager-pharmacy
https://finder.well.co.uk/0-well-pharmacy
finder.well.co.uk/0-well-pharmacy
https://finder.well.co.uk/gb/cheshire/shavington
finder.well.co.uk/gb/cheshire/shavington
https://finder.well.co.uk/store/alsager-alsager-hc
finder.well.co.uk/store/alsager-alsager-hc
https://finder.well.co.uk/store/nantwich-church-view-mc
finder.well.co.uk/store/nantwich-church-view-mc
https://finder.well.co.uk/store/sandbach-ashfields-mc
finder.well.co.uk/store/sandbach-ashfields-mc
https://storelocator.asda.com/north-west/crewe/victoria-centre/pharmacy
storelocator.asda.com/north-west/crewe/victoria-centre/pharmacy
https://themarketcentre.co.uk/shopping/17296/clear-pharmacy
themarketcentre.co.uk/shopping/17296/clear-pharmacy
https://tytheringtonpharmacy.co.uk/about-us
tytheringtonpharmacy.co.uk/about-us
https://www.boots.com/stores/1221-wilmslow-grove-street-sk9-1dy?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=LPM_google_1221
boots.com/stores/1221-wilmslow-grove-street-sk9-1dy
https://www.boots.com/stores/2024-knutsford-king-street-wa16-6dt?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=LPM_google_2024P
boots.com/stores/2024-knutsford-king-street-wa16-6dt
https://www.cohenschemist.co.uk/mycohens/directory/?branch=578
cohenschemist.co.uk/mycohens/directory/
https://www.tesco.com/store-locator/macclesfield/hibel-rd/pharmacy?srsltid=AfmBOor7_tn2nsyMCg7PeJet3myuronUQ-lAi25lCdgxT_-XENHcZFOA&preservedReferrer=https://www.google.com/
tesco.com/store-locator/macclesfield/hibel-rd/pharmacy
Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-h6vhtk-0509a0

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us