Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardHealth and social work servicesCPV: 85000000

Direct Payment Support Services

Westmorland and Furness
PEOPLE FIRST
Published 4 Mar, 2025
Contract Value
£132,000
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

The procurement process for Direct Payment Support Services, managed by Westmorland and Furness Council, has reached the award stage. This procurement falls under the health and social work services category (CPV: 85000000) and is located in England, United Kingdom. The contract period will run from 1 April 2025 to 31 March 2026 with a total value of £132,000.

The award was made via an open procedure, with the tender period having ended on 31 January 2025. The awarded supplier is People First, an SME headquartered in Carlisle, Cumbria. This tender presents substantial opportunities for businesses operating in the health and social care sector, particularly those skilled in providing support services for children and young people.

The flexibility offered by direct payments attracts service providers who can offer bespoke employment, education, and leisure activities tailored to individual needs. Companies experienced in managing personal assistant services would find this contract particularly valuable. Engaging in such tenders can help businesses expand their footprint in the public sector, build relationships with local councils, and enhance their service portfolios.

Notice Description

Section 17A of the Children's Act 1989, inserted by the Health and Social Care Act 2001, gave councils a duty to offer Direct Payments for children's services. In making Direct Payments under section 17A of the 1989 Act, councils are subject to the general duty provided by Part 3 of that Act to safeguard and promote the welfare of children in need, and to promote their upbringing by their families when making these payments, in exactly the same way as when providing direct services. The power to make Direct Payments to people with parental responsibility for disabled children and to disabled 16 and 17-year-olds was created by the Carers and Disabled Children Act 2000.

If the Local Authority assesses a child or young person requires support to meet identified needs, these needs will be identified on a plan along with an identification of the services that can meet these needs. If families do not want to use services directly provided or commissioned by the Authority, they have the option of receiving the support by Direct Payments instead. A Direct Payment affords a family the flexibility to look beyond 'off-the-peg' service solutions provided by the Authority and choose from a range of alternative employment, education and leisure activities to meet their child's assessed needs.

In many cases, the Direct Payment is used to employ a personal assistant to enable a child to access these activities.

Lot Information0 Lots
No lot information available.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-b5fd17-9c50fc64-7245-4ab0-b4af-65716eabd566
Publication Source
Contracts Finder
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Open
Awardee Scale
SME
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
£132,000
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
£132,000
Contracts Value
Not specified

The contract period is one year.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Not Specified
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Not Specified

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

WAF
WESTMORLAND AND FURNESS COUNCIL
Services
Contact Name
Lisa Measures
KENDAL
LA9 4DQ
North West
England
TLD1 Cumbria

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

PF
PEOPLE FIRSTAwarded
SME
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
1
Awards Value
£132,000

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-b5fd17-9c50fc64-7245-4ab0-b4af-65716eabd566

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us

Other tenders in Westmorland and Furness