St Helens Place - Care at the Chemist Service
Overview
Summary, notice description and lot information
The NHS Cheshire and Merseyside Integrated Care Board has awarded a contract titled "St Helens Place - Care at the Chemist Service" under the Health and social work services category. This service, provided at various pharmacies in St Helens, allows for consultation with a community pharmacist for minor ailments instead of a GP visit. The procurement method was limited, and the contract was awarded without prior publication of a call for competition, following the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023.
The contract, which began on 1st April 2025, will run until 31st March 2026, with an approved value of approximately £146,880 annually. The award was officially confirmed on 19th November 2024. This procurement presents opportunities for pharmaceutical companies and healthcare service providers, particularly those specialising in community pharmacy services.
Businesses that provide quality service and are flexible in offering health consultations in a local community setting could benefit significantly. Companies with strategic interest in expanding their presence in the health and social care market, particularly in the St Helens area, may find this contract aligns well with growth objectives due to the service model's focus on minor ailments and increased accessibility to care through pharmacies. The collaboration with established entities like AIM RX LTD, ASDA Stores LTD, and Boots UK Limited marks an attractive partnership opportunity in the region.
The Care at the Chemist scheme allows patients to consult a community pharmacist rather than a GP for a defined list of minor ailments. The service aims to improve access and choice for people with minor ailments by promoting self-care through the pharmacy, including provision of advice and, where appropriate, medicines and/or appliances without the need to visit the GP Practice.
NHS Cheshire and Merseyside ICB has awarded a one year contract via Direct Award A to selected St Helens pharmacies. The contract commenced on 1st April 2025 and will expire on 31st March 2026 with an indicative annual contract value of PS146880. The contract is an activity based contract.
Procurement Classification
Notice type, method, and CPV codes
Contract Values
Financial information and value estimates
Contract duration information not available.
Key Dates
Publication, submission, and award timeline
Notice Status
Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts
Contracting Authority
Buyer organisation and contact details
Awarded Supplier
Supplier who was awarded this contract
Documents & Links
External resources and data downloads
The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.
Need help with your tender submission?
Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.
Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.
Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk
Phone: 0333 577 0877
Contact UsBidding for contracts like this
Other tenders in Not specified
- NHSE1054 L&D and RECONNECT Services, Enhanced RECONNECT Services and MH Treatment Requirement Services in Not specified
- Adult Community Audiology Service in Not specified
- NHS Tier 2 Oral Surgery Services in NHS Surrey Heartlands Integrated Care Board (ICB) in Not specified
- NHS Tier 2 Oral Surgery Services in NHS Kent and Medway and NHS Sussex Integrated Care Boards (ICBs) in Not specified
- Community Musculoskeletal Health Services in Not specified
- Mental Health Services in Not specified