Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

PlanningHealth servicesCPV: 85000000

Management Provider For Public Health Services Delivered In Community Pharmacy Across Sunderland

Sunderland
Published 10 Sept, 2025
Contract Value
£1,519,200
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

Sunderland City Council is planning a public procurement process under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, with the aim to engage a management provider for public health services delivered in community pharmacies across Sunderland. This process falls under the industry category of health and social work services, specifically focusing on community-based health services. The procurement process is currently at the planning stage, and the contract for this service is estimated to begin on 1 December 2025, initially running for two years with possible extensions.

Interested providers must express their interest by 23:59 on Wednesday, 24th September 2025. The identified method for award is the "Most Suitable Provider Process" under Regulation 10 of the PSR. This tender presents significant opportunities for businesses specialising in health services to expand their offerings within the community pharmacy sector.

Potential contractors include those experienced in providing health management services such as smoking cessation, nicotine replacement therapy, and sexual health services, which are all crucial components of the tender. SMEs operating within these areas, particularly with a focus on community health and well-being, would be well-suited to compete for this contract. The tender also specifies the delivery location as within the boundaries of the City of Sunderland, offering local businesses a strategic advantage in deploying existing infrastructure and expertise to meet the Council's requirements.

Notice Description

For avoidance of doubt this Prior Information Notices supersedes and replaces the first PIN notice which was published for the Management Provider for Public Health Services Delivered In Community Pharmacy Across Sunderland (F01: Prior information notice - Notice identifier: 2025/S 000-036573 published on 1st July 2025). The Council of the City of Sunderland is seeking to appoint a Management Provider for Public Health Services Delivered in Community Pharmacy Across Sunderland ("the Service") for an initial period of two years, with an option for the Council to thereafter extend the contract (at its absolute discretion) for a further period(s) of up to a total maximum extension period of two years, under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023 ("PSR"). The Council intends to use the Most Suitable Provider Process under Regulation 10 of the PSR for the award of the proposed Contract for the Service.

This is a Notice of the Intention to follow the Most Suitable Provider Process pursuant to Regulation 10(2) of the PSR. The procurement and award of the proposed contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to this proposed contract.

Lot Information1 Lot
1Untitled Lot
Planned

The Council of the City of Sunderland is seeking to appoint a Management Provider for Public Health Services Delivered in Community Pharmacy Across Sunderland to manage Public Health Services within Community Pharmacies in Sunderland. The Service will include (without limitation): * Stop Smoking Service. * Community Pharmacy Nicotine Replacement Therapy Voucher Scheme. * Community Pharmacy Sexual Health Services (including Emergency Hormonal Contraception (EHC), provision of chlamydia and gonorrhoea screening kits, and registration of service users and distribution of condoms via the local C Card Scheme). This is a new Service which is estimated to commence on 1 December 2025 for an initial contract period of two years, with option(s) to extend thereafter by the Council (at its absolute discretion) for a further period(s) of up to a total maximum extension period of two years. Additional information: For avoidance of doubt this Prior Information Notices supersedes and replaces the first PIN notice which was published for the Management Provider for Public Health Services Delivered In Community Pharmacy Across Sunderland (F01: Prior information notice - Notice identifier: 2025/S 000-036573 published on 1st July 2025). The Council intends to follow the Most Suitable Provider Process under Regulation 10 of the PSR in respect of the award of the proposed contract. In line with the Regulation 10 (5) the Notice of Intention will remain open until 23:59 on Wednesday, 24th September 2025. Where a provider wishes to express an interest, the provider should submit their EOI to Joanne Leask, Senior Category Manager (email: joanne.leask@sunderland.gov.uk) prior to this date and time. The Council reserves the right to not award any contract and/or to abandon the process at any time. The Council shall not be liable in any circumstances to any party for any costs, expenses and/or other losses in connection with this process.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-0597c8
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Planning Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Not Specified
Awardee Scale
Not specified
Current Stage
Planning

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
£1,519,200
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
Not specified

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Planned
Lots Status
Planned
Awards Status
Not Specified
Contracts Status
Not Specified

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

SCC
SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL
Services
Contact Name
Joanne Leask
SUNDERLAND
SR1 3AA
North East
England
TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

?
Not specifiedAwarded
Not specified
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
0
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-h6vhtk-0597c8

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us