Where Care Excellence Meets Business Success. Transform your operations today - 0333 577 0877
We are here to help 24/7.

AwardPharmacy servicesCPV: 85149000

Public Health Primary Care Contracts - Pharmacies

Peterborough
ARMPHARMA
Published 17 Sept, 2025
Contract Value
Not specified
View Official Notice

Overview

Summary, notice description and lot information

Summary of the contracting process

Peterborough City Council has completed the procurement process for the Public Health Primary Care Contracts within the pharmacy services category, specifically focusing on the delivery of Emergency Hormonal Contraception (EHC) by community pharmacies. This contract, awarded under a Provider Selection Regime and not governed by the Public Contracts Regulations 2015, commenced on 5th August 2025 and extends until 30th June 2027, with two potential one-year extensions. The contract, valued at £112,000, was awarded to ARMPHARMA UK LTD through a direct award process without prior publication, primarily addressing the needs of the region UKH11.

This procurement presents significant growth opportunities for large-scale businesses in the pharmacy services industry capable of providing client-centred, confidential EHC services aligned with Patient Group Directions. Pharmacies specialising in sexual health services can leverage this contract to expand their client base, offering emergency contraception and integrative sexual health advice. Successful organisations will effectively link into existing networks and ensure compliance with accreditation requirements, ultimately fostering enhanced community health outcomes in the Peterborough area.

Notice Description

Peterborough City Council has awarded Contracts for the provision of the following pharmacy services: EHC (emergency hormonal contraception) The award has been made via Direct Award Process B of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023.

Lot Information1 Lot
1EHC (emergency hormonal contraception)
Cancelled

Emergency Hormonal Contraception Services to be delivered by Community Pharmacies to support the local population. Emergency hormonal contraception (EHC) may only be supplied by an accredited pharmacist. Medicine counter staff must be trained to refer each request for emergency hormonal contraception to the pharmacist(s). It is the responsibility of the Pharmacy Manager to ensure that all pharmacists, including locums, supplying EHC are accredited. The pharmacy must be able to supply emergency contraception during opening hours of the pharmacy on at least 4 days of the week, one of which will preferably be a Saturday. Pharmacists will supply Emergency Hormonal Contraception (EHC) when appropriate to clients in line with the requirements of the Patient Group Direction (PGD) for the supply of EHC by Community Pharmacists. Pharmacies will offer a user-friendly, non-judgmental, client centred and confidential service. The supply will be made free of charge to the client at Peterborough City Council (PCC) expense, dependant on the residency of the local authority boundaries. Pharmacists will link into existing networks for Sexual Health Services so that women who need to see a doctor can be referred on rapidly. Clients excluded from the PGD criteria will be referred to another local service that will be able to assist them, as soon as possible, e.g., GP or community sexual health service. The pharmacy will provide support and advice to clients accessing the service, including advice on the avoidance of pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (STIs) through safer sex and condom use, advice on the use of regular contraceptive methods and provide onward signposting to sexual health services that provide long-term contraceptive methods and diagnosis and management of STIs. This award is made in accordance with Direct Award Process B of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. The contract value is PS112,000. The initial contract period is 05 August 2025 - 30 June 2027 with two options to extend for a further 12 months each (maximum contract term is therefore 4 years). This is a continuation of an existing service awarded to an existing provider.

Procurement Classification

Notice type, method, and CPV codes

Open Contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-059c48
Publication Source
Find A Tender Service
Notice Type
Award Notice
Procurement Type
Standard
Procurement Category
Services
Procurement Method
Limited
Awardee Scale
Large
Current Stage
Award

Contract Values

Financial information and value estimates

Tender Value
Not specified
Lots Value
Not specified
Awards Value
Not specified
Contracts Value
£112,000

Contract duration information not available.

Key Dates

Publication, submission, and award timeline

Notice Status

Current status of tender, lots, awards, and contracts

Tender Status
Complete
Lots Status
Cancelled
Awards Status
Active
Contracts Status
Active

Contracting Authority

Buyer organisation and contact details

PCC
PETERBOROUGH CITY COUNCIL
Services
Contact Name
Christian Menendez
PETERBOROUGH
PE2 8TY
East
England
TLH4 Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

Awarded Supplier

Supplier who was awarded this contract

AR
ARMPHARMAAwarded
Large
View Profile
Number of Suppliers
1
Awards Value
Not specified

Documents & Links

External resources and data downloads

Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS)
OCDS RecordID: ocds-h6vhtk-059c48

The Open Contracting Data Standard (OCDS) is a framework designed to increase transparency and access to public procurement data in the public sector.

Need help with your tender submission?

Our expert team can help you prepare a winning bid. Get professional support from CareSync Experts.

Get in touch with our team at Care Sync Experts today for a consultation.

Email: hello@caresyncexperts.co.uk

Phone: 0333 577 0877

Contact Us